NEBOSH (The National Examination Board in Occupational Safety and Health) was formed in 1979 as an awarding body with charitable status. We offer a comprehensive range of globally-recognized, qualifications designed to meet the health, safety and environmental management needs of all places of work.

These qualifications are recognized by the relevant professional membership bodies including the Institution of Occupational Safety and Health (IOSH), the Chartered Institution of Water and Environmental Management (CIWEM) and IEMA.

NEBOSH examinations and assessments are set by its professionally qualified staff assisted by external examiners; most of whom are Chartered Safety and Health Practitioners or Chartered Environmentalists operating within industry, the public sector or in enforcement.

Managers, supervisors and employees throughout the world take the NEBOSH International General Certificate because it gives them the skills and know-how to fulfill their health and safety responsibilities in any country and in any kind of organization.
The NEBOSH International General Certificate is also suitable for those embarking on a career in health and safety, providing a sound basis for progression on to the NEBOSH International Diploma. No previous health and safety knowledge is required.

Element 1: Foundations in health and safety
Element 2: Health and safety management systems – Policy
Element 3: Health and safety management systems – Organizing
Element 4: Health and safety management systems – Planning
Element 5: Health and safety management systems – Measuring, Audit & Review

Element 1: Workplace Hazards & Risk Control
Element 2: Transport Hazards & Risk Control
Element 3: Musculoskeletal Hazards & Risk Control
Element 4: Work equipment Hazards & Risk Control
Element 5: Fire Hazards & Risk Control
Element 6: Fire Safety
Element 7: Chemical and biological Health Hazards & Risk Control
Element 8: Physical and Psychological Health Hazards & Risk Control

Practical Assessment Report

The qualification is comprised of three units, each of which is assessed separately:

Unit IGC1: Management of Health and safety
• Assessed by a 2-hour written examination consisting of ten short answer and one long answer questions.
Unit IGC2: Controlling workplace hazards
• Assessed by a 2-hour written examination consisting of ten short answer and one long answer questions.
Unit IGC3: Health and safety practical application
• Assessed by a 2-hour practical examination carried out in the candidate’s workplace. The assessments must be taken within 14 days of an examination.
Candidates will receive a unit certificate for each unit completed with a passing grade. All three units need to be passed in order to receive the qualification.

Upon successful completion of the course, candidates should be able to:
• Outline the scope and nature of occupational health and safety
• Understand key requirements for health and safety management systems
• Explain the principals and practice of risk assessment
• Outline the principals, purpose and role of active and reactive monitoring
• Explain the purpose of, and procedures for health and safety auditing
• Outline common health, welfare and work environment requirements in the workplace
• Explain the hazards and controls measures for assessing risks from manual handling
• Understand and explain the hazards and risks associated with the use of electricity and electrical tools in the workplace
• Outline the hazards, risk and control measures associated with chemical and biological substances
• Identify typical workplace hazards and develop suitable control measures
• Prepare management reports on health and safety improvements